Rights and Responsibilities - Lawrence Library Policies
- Library cards may be picked up, at no cost for Massachusetts residents, at the Circulation Desk. Proper identification is required.
- No material may be checked out without a card.
- If a Library Card is lost, a new one can be obtained for $2.
- Non-Massachusetts residents may also obtain cards for a fee of $50 per year.
Loan Periods and Fines
- Books, CD-ROMs, CDs, and audio books may be borrowed for three weeks. Magazines and Videos/DVDs may be borrowed for one week.
- The overdue charge is ten cents per item per day. There is no grace period.
- Renewals, except for magazines, are allowed for an additional three weeks if the materials are not being requested by another borrower. Magazines and Videos/DVDs may be renewed once for one week.
- Books reserved or requested will be held at the Circulation Desk for three business days.
- Patrons may borrow up to ten videos or DVDs for one week. Patrons may borrow six CD-ROMs per week.
- Late videos and DVDs accrue a fine of $1 a day per item.
- Videos must be rewound, or a $1 fee is assessed. DVDs, CDs, and CD-ROMs may be left in the Book Drop in a padded envelope which we are happy to provide. Videos may be left in the Book Drop as long as they are tied with elastic or placed in a padded envelope.
- The library has passes for either a free admission or a reduced admission to many area museums and attractions. These are purchased for the library through the generosity of the Friends of the Lawrence Library.
- Borrowers may reserve a pass in advance of the desired date by reserving online or calling 978-433-0330.
- Borrowers may use only one pass on any given day.
- Passes must be returned in the library pouch before the library opens the next business day. Pouches may be left in the Book Drop.
- Late passes accrue a fine of $2 per day.
Lost or Damaged Materials/Loss of Privileges
- A borrower who loses or damages library material should discuss replacement costs with the librarian or Circulation Staff.
- The automated check-out system blocks patrons with $10 or more in unpaid fines or any lost items.
Fines and Fees
Videos and DVDs, $1.00 per day, maximum of $10.00 per item
Books, magazines, audio books, CDs, and CD-ROMs $0.10 per day, maximum of $10.00 per item
Museum Passes $2.00 per day
Videos not rewound $1.00
Items from other libraries may have different loan periods and different fines than those stated above.
Lost and Damaged Items
Borrowers returning damaged material will be required to pay “lost” charges.
If the item can be replaced the borrower is required to pay the current, replacement price.
Items which are Out of Print will be priced according to the following schedule. In all cases the Library will strive to arrive at a fair price. When an item is replaced due to loss or damage all late fines are waived.
Out of Print Replacement Costs:
- Adult Fiction $25
- Paperback Fiction $7
- Hardcover Non-Fiction $30
- Paperback Non-Fiction $20
- Oversize $50
- Large Type Hardcover $25
- Children’s Paperbacks $5
- Boardbooks $5
- Teen and Children’s Hardcover $17
- Magazine $5
- Music CDs $18
- CD-ROMs $25
- DVDs - $25
- Videos $15
- Museum Passes-----depends on the specific museum’s policy regarding replacement.
- Audio Tapes and CDs-----average replacement is $85.
Individual tapes are priced $6 and CDs $7.
PLEASE NOTE: All videos, tapes, CDs, and CD-ROMs are used at the borrower’s own risk.
The library assumes no responsibility for damaged equipment.